What’s in Hunter’s Easter Basket? Easter Gift Ideas For Toddlers

Hello everyone!

So I was struggling to come up with ideas on what to give Hunter for Easter and then whilst I was out looking around at the shops yesterday I found some really great stuff for toddlers that was inexpensive but still fun. I thought I would share with you what Hunter is getting in his Easter basket this year (although his is all in a bag because I couldn’t find a basket).

Easter spread

This is what I came up with, I’ll list each item below and where I bought it. I can’t remember the exact prices of everything but most things were only $3 or $4, with the most expensive item being the Hey Duggee Magazine which was $7.95.

hey duggie

I purchased this Hey Duggee Activity book from my local Newsagency for $7.95 – which I didn’t think was too expensive seeing as it comes with some little toys as well. This book also has some cute little comic book style stories as well as a sheet of stickers.

dory colouring book

I purchased this Finding Dory colouring in/activity book from The Reject Shop for about $3. It also includes washable markers which is great considering somebody has a habit of “accidentally” drawing on the walls…

my first letters

I found this little My First Letters book at the Newsagency in the kids magazines section for about $4. I think it’s such a wonderful idea as each letter has a character attached to it (like E is for Elmo) – which I think will help keep Hunter interested whilst still learning letters.

Paper mates

Okay, I’m not going to lie, I bought this more for myself than for Hunter – seeing as he isn’t quite old enough for this kind of thing yet. But when I saw it, it brought back so many memories of making animals out of kits just like this with my Grannie when I was little and seeing as we are visiting my Grandparents and Parents this Easter, I couldn’t resist. This kit comes with everything you need to make cute little 3D cardboard animals, except for the glue. I found this at The Reject Shop for about $3-$4.

pooh bear easter

This very cute Winnie The Pooh Easter book was found tucked away in amongst a bunch of other Disney books at my local Newsagency. Hunter has been obsessed with “Pooh Bear” since he was a very little baby – his nursery was Winnie The Pooh themed and we had wall stickers up behind the rocking chair. When he started learning to smile, we noticed a lot of the time he wasn’t actually looking at me, he was looking past me at Pooh bear on his wall (to be honest I think he still prefers Pooh bear to me). So I thought this was very fitting. It was only $3-$4.

stickers

These were some stickers that caught Hunter’s eye at the Newsagency so I figured I’d get them for him. They’re really great for learning animal names too! They were around $2.

egg nest

That’s everything that’s going in his bag, however we are going to be doing an Easter egg hunt as well! This will be Hunter’s first year participating in Easter Egg hunts and I honestly can’t wait to see his reaction. I’m planning on downloading some Easter bunny footprint templates online and cutting them out to stick on the floor up the hallway, just to add that extra magic. We will be hiding some chocolate hollow eggs around the house for him to find, but seeing as he is still only 2 and a half – I don’t really want him having too much chocolate (and my Mum makes an amazing chocolate Easter cake which is covered in Easter eggs every year so there’s that too). But I also wanted to have it be a decent sized hunt – so I searched online for some plastic fillable Easter eggs. I got these from an online party store for about $5 and decided to go to The Reject Shop to find things to fill them with. Now – I do want to mention (and this is pretty obvious) that if you plan on doing this with toddlers, make sure you don’t purchase anything your toddler can choke on. I was really stuck for ideas as I am a bit paranoid when it comes to Hunter and small things, seeing as he still like to put things in his mouth (and up his nose…sigh), however just walking around the reject shop I found a few cute things to fill his eggs with.

egg prizes

Firstly, I found these bubbles that fit perfectly inside the eggs, they come with a little wand attached too. These are ones that you would have to watch your toddler with, as the cap does come off the bubbles and could be a choking hazard – however if you remove the cap for them, it would be fine. I also found mini tennis balls – these came in a pack of six and are all different colours. Now, the last thing I got was some hot wheels cars. These were a bit tricky, as I bought a few, but only 2 of them were small enough to fit inside the eggs, so maybe take an egg with you so you can judge the size. I also included some stickers in each egg and plan on putting a balloon in the ones that have the mini tennis balls. If you live in a warm area, water balloons would be great to pop in there as well.

So that is everything Hunter is getting for Easter this year. I normally wouldn’t have gotten this many things for him, however everything was so affordable – and it saves me taking activities from home to my Grandparents place to keep him occupied. I also wanted to keep up the tradition my grandparents started with me when I was little, we always got a few small, inexpensive gifts in our Easter bags/baskets and it made everything just that little more special.

What are you doing for your little ones this Easter? Let me know in the comments below!

Wishing you all a safe and Happy Easter!

Kimberly Xo

 

Leave a Reply

