Homemade “Perfect Playdough” Recipe – No Alum or Cream of TarTar 

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful long weekend! This past weekend was a rainy one so I wanted to find something fun we could do inside. I searched online for a playdough recipe and all of the required Alum or Cream of TarTar as we call it in Australia and of course I didn’t have any. There was no way I was dragging Hunter out in that miserable weather all for a ton of powder I will most likely never use again. So I searched and searched and finally found a recipe without it, but the comments said it didn’t work all that well. I decided to wing it and alter the amount of ingredients and it turned out perfectly! Just like the bought stuff except without the nasties. Here is my “Perfect Playdough” recipe! 

  
1 cup plain flour

1/4 cup salt

3 tsp lemon juice 

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 cup water

Food colouring

Pop it all in a pot over medium heat and cook until it’s play dough consistency. If adding different colours, separate the dough and knead the colours in. 
You could probably try 1 & 1/2 tablespoons of oil instead of 2 as it was a touch greasy but I prefer it like that as it doesn’t dry out as quickly. I also suggest dusting your bench with flour before kneading the colours into the dough. Oh and if you don’t want your hands looking like mine did, maybe put some gloves on!

  
Let me know how you go if you try this recipe out! I’d love to see pictures. Tag me on Instagram or Facebook, or feel free to send me a snap on Snapchat! All social media is listed below. Hope you all have a wonderful week! 

Kimberly Xo

Instagram: @kimberlyrose_xo

Facebook: Click Here!

Snapchat: Kimberly_xoxx

One thought on “Homemade “Perfect Playdough” Recipe – No Alum or Cream of TarTar 

Leave a Reply

