Tantrum City – When the Terrible Two’s Come Early…

I want to start this blog off by saying of course I love & adore my son, even when he is throwing a tantrum of Godzilla proportions. Right, moving on….

My toddler has been throwing tantrums since he was about 10 months old, however they were only very occasional and mild. As he has gotten older, the tantrums have obviously increased, both in frequency & in volume, but still haven’t been too bad. Until today. Today I feel like I am living in tantrum city, where nothing is okay and everything is infuriating, except I don’t know what’s causing it or how to fix it & I really want to get back to Pleasantville ASAP. Hunter has decided that today anything and everything is infuriating & that nothing is good enough. His toys aren’t doing what he wants them to, the cat won’t let him punch it (actually the cat (and us) never let him punch it, but apparently today that isn’t acceptable to Hunter), he wants to drink out of a cup but not THAT cup, or that one, the one that I am placing in the dishwasher because it’s dirty, that’s the one he wants. He’s tired and wants to go to bed, but doesn’t want you to leave, then once you go back in there he doesn’t want you there. 

Obviously I knew this day was coming, but I’m going to be honest here…

We’ve all been there right? In the days before we had kids, while we were leisurely strolling through the aisles of the shopping centre buying whatever we wanted (and not having to budget because we didn’t have to allow for nappies, wipes & the endless amount of bananas toddlers need) we’d come across a toddler throwing a ridiculous tantrum & would think “MY child will NEVER throw tantrums like that”. Well, I was right. My toddler doesn’t throw tantrums like the one I saw in Woolies, my child throws even bigger ones! Hard to believe right? Seeing as I was going to be the perfect parent with the perfectly behaved child. As per usual, life has given me a giant smack in the face of reality in the form of a toddler who has inherited my short temper, thanks a lot genes. 

Kids are going to be kids. Toddlers are bound to throw tantrums. It’s the only way they can express such big feelings that they don’t quite understand yet. I totally get where they are coming from, when I’ve got PMS I throw tantrums that can easily rival my toddler’s. Last time I was PMS’ing I was so angry for no reason that I actually wanted to get away from myself. Side story – my husband was listening to a chick’s cover of Justin Bieber’s Love Yourself (while I had PMS), & this thought actually crossed my mind – I’m not even joking here, “I wonder if he’s messaging her, what if he’s cheating on me with her?!” Yep because my husband would TOTALLY cheat on me, NOT! & if he did it would definitely be with a famous Aussie musician. I’m a deadset idiot when hormones are coursing through me at peak levels. 

This is all part of the joy of motherhood, some days are a lot (a fuck load) harder than others & some days are so wonderful & fun you wish you could relive them over and over. 

So now I am left to try & work out what to do when my son throws a huge tantrum. What do you do? Do you walk away and ignore it? Do you do time outs? Cuddles or distraction? Leave a comment below or on my social media (links are down the bottom of the page) letting me know what works for you & your toddler. 

As always, feel free to send me a message on Facebook if you’re having a tough day or even just for a chat 🙂 clearly I’m an open book haha

Have a lovely week! I’ll be back on Friday with another Easter DIY.

Kimberly Xo

Instagram: @Kimberlyrose_xo

Snapchat: kimberly_xoxx

Facebook – Click here!

2 thoughts on “Tantrum City – When the Terrible Two’s Come Early…

  1. cristinkelly

    Mine also had her “terrible 2s” early. They lasted from around 18 – 23 months, and eased up when she had a big word explosion.
    My best tactic for dealing with them was to mostly ignore them until I thought she was ready for a break (sometimes 20 or more minutes later!), and then I’d get down on the floor with her and offer a cuddle. Sometimes she was ready to take it, sometimes not.
    For us, the good news that her actual 2’s were lovely – not terrible at all!

    Like

  2. Yep, the name lies, those terrible 2’s really start at about 14 months and last well beyond 24 months. And then you’ve got the Threenager shenanigans to deal with after that. Give me a newborn any day over a bloody toddler, they’re the worst. My husband and I sometimes lament the fact that we didn’t have a bigger gap between the girls, because their terrible twos and threenager stages have overlapped and it’s a freaking nightmare!

    Thankfully the big girl is leaving threenager-hood behind and getting much better, just in time for Miss 2.5 to take up the Threenager mantle! For my big girl, I found the best way to shut down a tantrum was to start having one myself. When she starts to whine or carry on I would just start copying her and do the same thing. She would be so intrigued and taken aback by this that she usually forgot what she was carrying on about in the first place and we usually both ended up laughing. But my youngest? All I can do is walk away and be available to her once she’s calmed down enough. She has taken it to a whole ‘nother level!

    Like

Leave a Reply

