Day #7 – 7 Lessons I have learnt this year {October Blogging Challenge}

Here are the lessons I have learnt so far this year…

1. I am Stronger than I thought I was

image

This is something I learnt last year, with everything that happened with the pregnancy & giving birth, I’ve learnt that I am actually a lot stronger than what I give myself credit for. I’ve been through a lot for someone my age and I’ve handled everything pretty well.

2. Who cares what people think of you

image

You can strive to be the best person you can be, but there will always be someone out there who still doesn’t like you and that’s okay. You don’t need everyone to like you for you to be happy. I have ALWAYS been one of those people who actually spends time worrying what other people think. But now I really don’t care and I’m happier because of it.

3. Be less judgemental of others

image

I’d like to think I’m a very accepting, non-judgemental person, however I haven’t always been this way. I’ve been known to roll my eyes at a Facebook status or two when someone is having a whinge, but after what I’ve been through and how much I used to hide from family & friends with how I was struggling, I now know that just because someone appears to be okay doesn’t mean that they are. Maybe them having a little rant on Facebook makes them feel better and if that’s the case then I’m all for it. I actually posted this quote to my Instagram about 4 months ago and at the time I was REALLY struggling, mentally and emotionally I just wasn’t coping and I was trying to pretend like I was totally fine and rocking at this whole Mummy thing when really I was drowning in my own negative thoughts. This leads onto my next lesson learnt…

4. Be kind to everyone you meet

Be kind to everyone you meet because for all you know they could be going through hell and are just afraid to tell anyone. Even if someone is rude to you or snaps at you, be kind. They may just be at their wits end and having a terrible time. (Obviously if someone is repeatedly nasty or malicious towards you it is a whole different story).

5. Don’t let people walk all over you or use you

image

This is definitely something I have learnt since having Hunter. When you have kids you learn who your real friends are and unfortunately for me I’m left with only a few friends, however this leads me to my next lesson learnt…

6. Quality over quantity

I feel this applies to everything, especially friends. At the end of the day, if someone asked you about your friends would you rather say “I have a lot of ‘friends’ but none of them are ever there for me and only call when they need something” or would you rather say “I only have a few friends but I know they will always be there for me, as I am for them and I can trust them”. I know which I prefer.

7. Build each other up, don’t tear each other down

image

Women have a bad reputation for being catty and not supporting each other, however recently celebrities have been publicly showing their support for one another. Think Taylor Swift & her ‘Squad’ or the fact she features other singers regularly in her concerts, showing she not only supports them, but is proud and honored to perform alongside them. Whether you like her or not, she is a great role model for women lifting each other up and supporting one another.

So those are my lessons learnt this year! What are yours?

Kimberly Xo

Leave a Reply

