Day #5 – Top 5 Favourite Movies {October Blogging Challenge}

I had to think really, really hard about this. There are so many movies I love so just picking five was really difficult! But here is what I have come up with…

5. The Blind Side

blind side

Image source: IMDB.com

This one is only a recent favourite, but I love it so so much. It is such an inspiring movie. I wish I were more like Leigh Ann Oher, she is such a strong, kind & generous woman. Sandra Bullock was amazing in this movie too, although I like almost every movie of hers, she is such a brilliant actress.

4. Pretty Woman

Pretty_woman_movie

Image Source: Wikipedia

This is such a good girls night movie and a good reminder to not care what others think of you. I really love Julia Roberts, my other favourite movies of hers are Notting Hill, Runaway Bride & Erin Brockovich.

3. Six Days Seven Nights

six-days-seven-nights-movie-poster-1998-1020210450

Image Source: Moviepostershop.com

This is seriously one of the best movies of all time in my opinion. So funny and easy to watch. I love Harrison Ford too, so much that Hunter was almost named Harrison after the actor!

2. Twister

220px-Twistermovieposter

Image Source: Wikipedia

I saw Twister when it came out in the cinemas when I was just 3 years old and have loved it ever since. My entire family has always been obsessed with this movie. To the point where my brother & I can say the lines before they come up in the movie. A story my parents have always told everyone is that when we were at the cinemas and the scene where the cow flies by & the character Melissa says “I gotta go, we got cows.” apparently I said to our family friend who was with us “Mr Field, Mr Field its a cow!” & when the cow flew past the second time I eagerly said “Mr Field, Mr Field there’s another cow!” so now every time I watch that scene its all I think of haha. If you haven’t seen this movie, you MUST watch it! I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like it.

And now for my favourite movie of all time….Drum roll please…

1. The Lion King

the lion king

Image Source: IMDB.com

Anyone who knows me well will know I am in love with Disney movies, mostly the older ones like Snow White, Alice In Wonderland, The Little Mermaid, 101 Dalmations, Aladdin (I even named my cats Aladdin & Abu after the movie..) etc but I do like some of the newer ones too. But my all time favourite movie is definitely The Lion King. I also saw this in the cinemas when it first came out way back in 1994, when I was just 2 years old. My brother & I were the only kids in the cinemas with the Simba soft toys and I still have mine today and he’s in pretty good condition too. I loved this movie so much that I used to come home from primary school and watch it on video every afternoon. Even when I was in high school and having a hard time I would come home and watch it, it just makes me happy. I still cry now when Mufussa dies. Seriously WHYYYY!!! So glad Scar gets what’s coming to him in the end. Hunter watched this when he was only 5 or 6 months old and seemed to enjoy it (the parts he didn’t sleep through anyway!) but he will have to get used to it seeing as it’s Mumma’s favourite.

Clearly 90% of my favourite movies are about 20 years old, but I just feel like movies aren’t as good these days.

I have to also give honorable mention to Finding Nemo, this is a movie I used to play on repeat EVERY night when I lived by myself when I was 17, it used to help relax me, I also used to play Wild Hogs on repeat for the same reason. I also really loved Grease growing up & still do but as I’ve gotten older I’ve become less tolerant of musicals haha.

So that’s it! What are your favourite movies? Share them in the comments, I’d love to know! I’m always on the look out for new movies to watch, although I don’t watch horror AT ALL because I am a sook haha.

Hope you’re enjoying the daily blogs!

Kimberly Xo

Leave a Reply

