Go the F*ck To Sleep!

Go the F*ck To Sleep…

When I first heard about this book, I thought it was just a joke, you know something funny parents could laugh about. Funnily enough, while I was in labour, my husband was showing the midwife the video on YouTube of Noni Hazlehurst reading the book and we were all having a good laugh about it (and by we I mean my mother, husband and midwife were laughing while I was trying not to scream profanities during contractions). Now I am considering finding a distributor and reading it to my son every time I put him to bed. If you haven’t already guessed, we are seriously struggling with sleep in our household. Well, I shouldn’t say we (mummy and daddy would LOVE a full night’s sleep without munchkin ending up in bed with us), more like one Master Grubby who has decided to scream like he is being tortured every time we put him down for a nap or to bed at night. I am seriously ready to pull my hair out. It wasn’t all that long ago (some 20 years or so..) that I was a little toddler being forced to nap and even at 3 years old I knew the beauty of lying in bed mid-afternoon to take a nap (disclaimer; this may not actually be true – consult Meemaw for accurate recount of my naptime struggles). Seriously though, I don’t understand why babies/children hate naps/sleep so much. Dude, you’re clearly tired, how about we fix that by putting you to bed so you can sleep, then you won’t be tired anymore! The sad part of this is that you can’t explain logic to a baby, well you can try but I guarantee (at least for my little one) it won’t be well received. As I type, my son is screaming in his cot like an absolute lunatic because he’s tired and no one is fixing it. We have been struggling with nap time and bed time for the past month and a half and I am well and truly over it. It is taking its toll on my body, to the point where I have grinded my teeth out of sheer frustration that much that I have given myself a condition called trigeminal neuralgia. This is where the nerves in your jaw are pinched to all hell and it shoots excruciating pain through the whole side of your face and I am now going to have to be on very strong medication for the rest of my life because of it. *Insert massive sigh*

So here I am, openly sharing with you my struggles with being a parent, admitting that I get incredibly frustrated with my nearly 9 month old’s sleeping conundrums and yet I rarely see anyone admitting the same. Rarely do you hear anyone complain about their infants in person or on social media. Why is that? Why are people so afraid to vent or even seek advice on Fakebook? No that is not a typo, Facebook is just that, fake. That is the beauty of social media, you can display the parts of your life that you want on show; things you are proud of, achievements, photos of your kids being cute etc. But why doesn’t anyone ever be honest and say “why won’t my child go the f*ck to sleep?” Now don’t get me wrong, what you do with your social media accounts is your business and I’m not hating on anyone at all, I just feel like people need to be more honest. If you know me personally (or have read a few of my blogs), you will know I am a brutally honest person. I am an over-sharer and I’m proud of it. People always know they will get the same me every time they see or talk to me, no one ever has to wonder how I’m feeling because if I’m not telling you how I feel, its usually written all over my face (or on my Facebook or blog ;). This is just the way I am and I know not everyone is like this and not everyone wants to be either. But I feel like if people were more open and honest about what they are going through, we’d all feel less shitty about ourselves. People often feel they need to portray this positive person who never has anyone trouble with anything because they are in fear of being judged or just don’t want to be seen as someone who is ungrateful and complains all the time. However, if more of us shared our parenting struggles, the less “frowned-upon” it will be. The way I see it is like this; if I see someone post a status saying they are struggling with a teething bub, my initial thought is to offer advice. I know not everyone wants others’ advice and opinions but you never know, you might help someone by sharing your tips.

What I am trying to get at is, if we all were a little more open with our parenting struggles, maybe we wouldn’t all struggle so much…Then again I guess it comes down to whether you find parenting difficult or not and how you cope when your kids have a meltdown.

Now, does anyone know how I can get my baby to Go the F*ck To Sleep?!

As always feel free to send me a message on Facebook if you have any questions or just want to chat!

Kimberly xo

 

Leave a Reply

